Australia Qualifying Requirements

Effective 1st July 2014, as per the new point grid, the Qualifying Score is 60 points for Skilled Subclasses.
The various parameters to check your eligibility is:


Age Points
18-24 years 25
25-32 years 30
33-39 years 25
40-44 years 15
45-49 years 0

English Language Level

English language ability Points
Superior (at least a score of 8 in each of the four IELTS bands) 20
Proficient (at least a score of 7 in each of the four IELTS bands) 10
Competent (at least a score of 6 in each of the four IELTS bands) 0

Education Qualification

Overseas Qualification Points
Doctorate Degree 20
Bachelors Degree or Masters Degree 15
Australian Diploma or trade qualification 10
Award or qualification recognized by the assessing authority in assessment of the skilled occupation 10


Australian qualifications Points
Met the two year study requirement while in Australia 5

Skilled Employment Experience


Length of employment Points
1 year 5
3 years 10
5 years 15
8 years 20


Length of employment Points
3 years 5
5 years 10
8 years 15

Partner's Skills

Spouse skills Points
If applicable (by fulfilling the requirements obtaining skills assessment) 5

Intended Occupation from Schedule 1 or Schedule 2 of the Skilled Occupation List (SOL)

Check your Australia Assessment Points ( Point Calculator )